Hurricane Zeta: Six counties eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance

posted in: Mississippi News | 0
(Image courtesy of the City of Biloxi)

As the Mississippi Gulf Coast continues to recover from the damage caused by Hurricane Zeta, six counties are now eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. 

Announced by the Mississippi Department of Employment Security, individuals in George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, and Stone counties who were unable to work because of Hurricane Zeta may apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

MDES explained that people who live or work in one of the affected counties and could not work because of major destruction caused by Hurricane Zeta that occurred October 28 – 29, 2020 are entitled to apply and may be eligible to receive DUA.

Self-employed individuals, who were living or working in the affected areas at the time of the major disaster, and those who are unemployed as a result of the major disaster, may be eligible for DUA. In addition, those who were unable to reach their jobs, because the disaster prevented their travel, or who were scheduled to begin employment, but the disaster prevented them from doing so, may apply.

Eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who:

(1) Became the major support for a household because of the disaster-related death of the head of the household;

(2) Cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster;

(3) Could not work or lost work as a result of physical damage or destruction of a business, and;

(4) Are unable to work because of the physical inaccessibility of the place of employment due to its closure by the federal government.

The deadline to apply is February 6, 2021.

Individuals in George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, and Stone Counties in Mississippi can apply online 24 hours a day at or by calling toll-free, 601-493-9428 from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

According to the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, the Category 2 storm caused nearly $90 million in damages. Recently, President Trump approved a Federal Disaster Request for both Individual and Public Assistance for counties affected by the storm. 

Public Assistance was approved for the following eight counties: George, Greene, Jackson, Hancock, Harrison, Perry, Stone and Wayne.

Individual Assistance was also approved for the following six counties: George, Greene, Jackson, Hancock, Harrison and Stone.

The post Hurricane Zeta: Six counties eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance appeared first on News Mississippi.