IHL’s ‘Safe Start Task Force’ looks ahead to fall semester

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, campuses at Mississippi’s public universities have been empty since Spring Break and classes for the remainder of the semester are taking place online. Looking ahead to the fall, the Institutions of Higher Learning has established a task force aimed at developing a plan for the upcoming semester.

According to the IHL, the ‘Safe Start Task Force’ will “craft a system-level plan for starting and completing the fall 2020 semester in the safest and most effective way, so that students and universities can achieve the best possible outcomes, regardless of the challenging circumstances.”

Made up of representatives from each university, the task force was developed by Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Alfred Rankins Jr.

“The COVID-19 pandemic has created unprecedented disruption to all facets of our society and university operations are not excluded,” said Dr. Rankins. “Regardless of the challenges, our universities are committed to providing the best and safest educational experience possible for their students and the most productive and safest work environment for their employees. To achieve this goal, key leaders from each of the eight universities will provide valuable input through the task force.”

Mississippi State University Provost and Executive Vice President Dr. David Shaw will serve as Chair.  The members of the Safe Start Task Force include:

Alcorn State University

Dr. Keith McGee
Interim Vice President and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Ms. Dorothy Davis
Director of Health and Disability Services

Delta State University

Dr. Charles McAdams
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Michelle Roberts
Vice President of Executive Affairs and Chief of Staff

Jackson State University

Ms. Robin Pack
Executive Director for Human Resources

Dr. Carlos Wilson
Interim Director of School of Lifelong Learning

Mississippi State University

Dr. David Shaw
Provost and Executive Vice President

Dr. Regina Hyatt
Vice President for Student Affairs

Mississippi University for Women

Dr. Tammie McCoy
Professor & Dean of Nursing and Health Sciences

Mr. Jason Trufant
Director of Athletics and Recreation

Mississippi Valley State University

Dr. La Shon Brooks
Chief of Staff and Legislative Liaison

Ms. Joyce Dixon
Vice President for Business and Finance

The University of Mississippi

Mr. Larry Sparks
Vice-Chancellor for Administration and Finance

Dr. Charlotte Pegues
Interim Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

The University of Southern Mississippi

Mr. Chad Driskell
Vice President for External Affairs

Dr. Amy Chasteen
Executive Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Due to the current COVID-19 social distancing guidelines, all meetings will be held remotely.

The post IHL’s ‘Safe Start Task Force’ looks ahead to fall semester appeared first on News Mississippi.