Mississippi high school football championship game scores

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

The high school football season in Mississippi is nearing its end as the state championship games are underway at Veterans-Memorial Stadium in Jackson. 

News Mississippi will update scores as the games conclude. 


  • 3A

Noxubee County (10-1): 26 vs. Magee (11-0): 49

Photo courtesy of Keith Warren/MHSAA

The Magee Trojans took home the 3A title behind a masterful performance from Mr. Football Award winner Chandler Pittman, accounting for 5 total touchdowns.

  • 1A

Biggersville (13-0): 14 vs. Lumberton (11-1): 20 

Photo courtesy of Keith Warren/MHSAA

Biggersville tied the 1A title game late, but a 42-yard touchdown pass from Lumberton QB Rodney Parker to WR K’Nylan Willis gave the Panthers a 20-14 victory and a state championship.

  • 6A – Oxford (12-0): 28 vs. Oak Grove (12-0): 29
Photo courtesy of Keith Warren/MHSAA

In a game that will be talked about for years to come, Oak Grove was to capture the 2020 6A state title. After Oxford took a 28-21 lead late in the 4th, the Warriors got the ball with time ticking away. On a 4th and short, Oak Grove QB Kade Barnett scrambled and found the end zone for what appeared to a game-tying touchdown with:07 seconds remaining, but head coach Drew Causey decided to go for the win. Barnett found Traveyon Moore in the back of the end zone to give the Warriors a 29-28 lead. A last-ditch effort by Oxford fell short and the Warriors won an instant classic. 


  • 4A – Louisville (12-1): 15  vs. Poplarville (10-3): 14
Photo courtesy of Keith Warren/MHSAA

Continuing the trend of memorable state championship games, the 4A title game came down to the wire this morning as Louisville capped their comeback effort with less than a minute remaining to earn their 10th title in school history. Down 14-7, Louisville QB Jace Hudspeth found Jarvis Rush for a touchdown and the Wildcats opted to go for two, just like Oak Grove in Friday night’s 6A title game. Jaden Triplett ran it in and with a 15-14 final score, Louisville left Jackson as state champions. 

  • 2A – 3:00 p.m. 

Calhoun City (10-2) vs. Taylorsville (13-1)

  • 5A – 7:00 p.m. 

West Point (11-3) vs. West Jones (12-2)

The post Mississippi high school football championship game scores appeared first on News Mississippi.