Primary races set in Mississippi’s congressional elections

posted in: Mississippi News | 0

The 2020 election cycle is underway, and primary races for congressional seats are coming up fast. 

The field of candidates for the March 10th congressional primaries has been set following Friday’s qualifying deadline. The full list of candidates was released by Secretary of State Michael Watson.

  • U.S. Senate:

Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith will not face a Republican challenger, but three Democrats, including two candidates from the previous election cycle, have entered the race.

Republican – Cindy Hyde-Smith (Incumbent)
Democrat – Mike Espy, Tobey Bartee, Jensen Bohren
Independent – Jimmy Edwards

Congressional Races:

  • MS-01

There will not a be primary race in either party, but incumbent Congressman Trent Kelly will have a Democratic opponent in November.

Republican – Trent Kelly (Incumbent)
Democrat – Antonia Eliason

  • MS-02

Incumbent Congressman Bennie Thomson will face a primary challenger in the Democratic Party, and three Republicans will battle for the party’s nomination in the race.

Republican – Thomas Carey, Brian Flowers, B.C. Hammond
Democrat – Bennie Thompson (Incumbent), Sonia Rathburn

  • MS-03

First-term incumbent Congressman Michael Guest will face a primary opponent, and Democrats in the district will have a primary race as well.

Republican – Michael Guest (Incumbent), James Tulp
Democrat – Dorothy Benford, Katelyn Lee

  • MS-04

Incumbent Congressman Steven Palazzo will face a crowded field in a Republican primary, but there will be no opposition from the Democratic Party in November.

Republican – Steven Palazzo (Incumbent), Carl Boyanton, Robert Deming III, Samuel Hickman
Democrat – No Candidate

Any necessary runoffs would be held on March 31st. The general election is set for November 3rd.

The post Primary races set in Mississippi’s congressional elections appeared first on News Mississippi.